For good…

“And we know that in all things God works for the GOOD of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

In one of my favorite chapters of the Bible, I have the above verse colored in yellow and underlined with black ink. Romans 8:28 has been a part of my memory for a little while. Sometimes, though, I forget the amazing promise this verse holds. God works ALL things for my GOOD. The word “ALL” is a pretty inclusive word. When one of my kids says, “All the brownies are gone,” I don’t have to ask him if I need to bake more. I understand what he is saying to me. “Mom, make more brownies.”  Sometimes, though, I question if anything positive can come out of a situation that is particularly painful or difficult. Do I need to question? I don’t if I continue to read the verse. God works for the GOOD, my GOOD. I often wonder what good can come out of painful circumstances? I wonder sometimes if God is really aware of what is happening at a given moment, and if He is, how can good possibly come from some of those things? This morning, as I sat and thought about these things, it occurred to me that it often feels like I have a black cloud that hovers above me. Every once in a while, the sun rays break through that cloud and shine on my heart and I know the joy of the Lord that is available to me. Then, all too soon, those rays disappear and I know the cloud has covered them once again. This morning, though, God put a new thought in my head. Not really new, I guess, but one I hadn’t stopped to consider before. The sun didn’t go anywhere. It is right where it is supposed to be, behind the clouds that have blocked its light. The light of the sun still shines behind those clouds. The light of the SON still shines behind the clouds of discouragement, pain, illness and a past that most people know nothing about in my life. I once again come back to the promise of Romans 8:28: God works for my GOOD in ALL things. My discouragement causes me to go to Him; my pain causes me to go to Him; my illness drives me to Him all the more; my past is slowly losing its grip on me as I go to Him each day. I cling to this promise from Romans. I committed it to memory so I can recall it when the dark cloud is blocking my view of the Son.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

