One Foot in Front of the Other

When I was a kid, one of the highlights of the Christmas season was watching the animated specials on television. With no such thing as cable TV, VCR’s, Hulu, Netflix or You Tube, these were special because it was the ONLY time of year they were viewable. My father would make a big deal out of these specials, and viewing them would always be a family affair. One that I especially enjoyed was “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”.   At one point in the show, Winter Warlock is about to give up, for he feels he is too old to be of any use to anyone anymore.

 

So many times in my life I have felt like Mr. Warlock. I look at things that have happened or choices I have made, and I think it is just too late to make things right. There are broken relationships in my life, relationships with family members and former friends who have made it clear they want nothing to do with me, that I wish were not broken.  Wishes, though, do not make a hardened heart soften to forgiveness. Often, when I have spent too long thinking about these things, I find myself repeating those words that Winter Warlock spoke–“It’s just too late.” 

 

That was a good part of my thinking the last few weeks. I allowed my thoughts to wander too much, rather than take them captive, and I found myself believing that I can no longer be of any use to God. My frustration level was high as I thought about different things that were a part of my life that I thought God could somehow use, yet every time I thought a door was opened, it would quickly close. I looked at my role as a mom and a wife and quickly decided that I wasn’t much use in those departments either, especially with health issues interfering. It was amazing how fast my thoughts spiraled downward once I took that first step. Then I remembered. Do you remember Kris Kringle’s response to Winter Warlock after his statement that “it’s just too late”?

 

Kris Kringle: “Too late? Too late? Why, it’s never too late!”

Kris broke into a song. “Put one foot in front of the other, and soon you’ll be walking ‘cross the floor.

Put one foot in front of the other, and soon you’ll be walking out the door.”

 

I needed to keep walking, regardless of what my feelings were saying. Do the thing in front of me, no matter how meaningless I thought it may be. “As long as there is breath in my body, I must have a reason to be here,” I told myself. So that’s what I did. I asked God once again to show me what it is I should be doing and then I did the next thing in front of me–that happened to be dishes this time. I resolved to wait on God. He did not disappoint.

 

Once the dishes were done, I checked my e-mail. After deleting the spam ones, I noticed one from someone at church. As I read it, I got excited. Here was an opportunity to share how God had used something in my life…something that was painful to go through yet resulted in the happiest of outcomes. Today, I am thanking God for the upcoming opportunity I will have to share with others how He has worked in my heart and life over the last several months. I am excited (and somewhat nervous) to do this. It will allow people into parts of my life that have not been opened to others before. As hard and humbling as that is going to be, I know that the story is powerful, and I hope that others will be blessed and encouraged by what God has been doing. Powerful stuff the works of God are, and to think he uses me, my journey, as part of them amazes me.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

