More on friends…

I know I’ve written about this subject before. For some reason, and I may not ever know why, I keep getting put back into situations that reinforce the idea that just because a person is important in my life for a time, that person may not be meant to be a permanent part of my life. I think I am wrestling with the idea that as Christians, we are supposed to live in unity. I am getting ahead of myself though.

 

This week I sat and talked with someone who played a very important part of my life for several years. I will not tread on the brink of gossip by mentioning a name or even a gender. I will simply say I considered this person a close friend and mentor. Notice the past tense. After our visit this week, I am no longer sure either of those two classifications still fit.

 

This week, as I talked with this person, the conversation did not flow smoothly. In fact, it seemed one-sided and almost forced. Don’t get me wrong, there was no impoliteness or agitation manifested by this person, rather, it seemed that I was infringing on time–time that was once given freely to me. After 30 minutes, it felt right for me to wrap up the conversation and leave–which is exactly what I did.

 

As I got into my car and began to drive away, I couldn’t help but think to past conversations and how warm they had been in contrast to the conversation I had just left. I admit to allowing hurt to creep in. I missed the friendship we once had. I also thought about the concept of unity. This person is a family member in Christ. Aren’t we all, as the body of Christ, supposed to be one? Aren’t we supposed to love, even though we have chosen different bodies of believers to be a part of? I felt I was doing my best to live in unity with this person, but I was rejected in my efforts. It hurt.

 

And then, I remembered the lesson God has been impressing on me. He brings some people into my life for a specific time and purpose. When His purposes have been fulfilled and my lessons have been learned, He moves me to the next step in my journey. Sometimes, He moves people along with me and they stay part of my life; other times, he removes people for they have a different path on which to continue and He brings others into my life to be there on the next steps of the journey.

 

These can be tough lessons to learn, but I am thankful that He never leaves me to learn them on my own.  

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

