Attack…actually, RESIST

“In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one;…”

It took me a few days to figure it out. In reality, I didn’t figure it out myself. I called in some reinforcements…sort of.

My last entry detailed the rough patch I was experiencing emotionally. Nothing helped.

I got extra sleep.

No relief.

I cut back on responsibilities.

No relief.

I put on music.

Some relief…but not complete.

I read the Bible.

Some relief…but not complete.

Thursday morning what I was experiencing went beyond just feeling run down and tired. There was a dark heaviness that seemed to engulf me. It took every ounce of strength I had to even get out of bed. I was worn, weary and fighting the urge to quit. I cried to God. I heard nothing in return. I battled those old feelings of wondering where God had gone. I KNEW He was there. I KNEW I couldn’t trust my feelings. I CLUNG to God with every thing I had and prayed He wouldn’t let go of me.

I began to sense this was more than exhaustion. I wondered if this could be an attack from the enemy.

I e-mailed Pastor Brent. I explained to him what had been going on and the heaviness that had seemed to surround me. I asked him if a spiritual attack could last this long. His reply not only answered my question (Yes, he said), but it also encouraged me. Have I said how thankful I am to be a part of this church family? He encouraged me to spend some time in the Scriptures.

I decided to re-read Ephesians where Paul talks about putting on spiritual armor. I’ve read that passage many times. Again, I had so much head knowledge but didn’t know how to actually apply what I knew. I looked at some notes I found on that passage and one thing really hit me. It described the shield of faith. The author wrote:

“Faith is absolute confidence in God, His promises, and His program for my life. To quench the fiery darts of the evil one, the shield of faith is claiming God’s promises, trusting God’s character, applying God’s truth, and holding it up to deflect satan’s darts, the likes of which could be guilt, lies, deception, etc. The goal of the darts is to get your focus off God and onto something else…satan tries to get you to think inaccurately about God or yourself.”

EPIPHANY!

The shield of faith is an important key to overcoming spiritual attack. A soldier can have armor on, but he would still want a shield to deflect an arrow if given the chance. 

The enemy is relentless. The last few days have been a tiny bit better, but I definitely still feel under fire. I was thankful last night to make it to small group. I am very much looking forward to church tomorrow. As Pastor Brent told me, “Satan used to have his way with you. Now you are resisting and publically declaring that you are a child of God. Satan hates us, but the attack won’t always be this thick. Keep pressing into God.”

That’s what I intend to do. Satan is NOT going to win this time. My shield of faith is polished and ready. Prayer, worship, and being fed God’s Word tomorrow will only strengthen that shield.

Can I say that God is awesome! I guess I just did. 🙂

 

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

