A Month of Thanks

“The Pilgrims made seven times more graves than huts.  No Americans have been more impoverished than these who, nevertheless, set aside a day of thanksgiving.”  ~H.U. Westermayer

If you follow my writings then you know that Thanksgiving is, at the same time, my most favorite and most painful holiday. If you wonder why that is, go back a few entries and read on the blessings and sadness that Thanksgiving brings me.

I was thinking this morning about thankfulness and how, even though we should always be a people pouring out thanks for all we have in this country, it is the month of November that really makes us think about being thankful. So, I decided to (try) to do a post a day telling of something I am thankful for–I put the word try in parentheses because sometimes typing is difficult.

November 1st  is today so I start with my first post of giving thanks…

I am thankful for the salvation offered me freely by Jesus Christ. It has been almost one year since realizing that I needed to accept that gift and that it was free–it had nothing to do with anything I said or did or would try to do. God chose, in His mercy, to open my eyes to the riches of His grace and I could never say enough words to thank Him for that. He is my Savior, my Father, my Shepherd, my Protector, my Healer and my King! From Him flows all the rest of the thankfulness posts that will follow, for without His mercies and love, I would have nothing.

My thankfulness for today in one word–Salvation.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

