Thankfulness Post–Day 2

As I continue to count my blessings in this month noted for thankfulness, I count this one closest to the top and second only to my salvation. Today, my thankfulness post is about my husband.

Twenty-six years I have been married to this man who calls me his wife. On more than one occasion, he has had the opportunity to walk away from the difficult road our marriage has taken us down. At one point, we did walk away from each other. At another point, more recent, we came close to making that parting of ways permanent. I am so thankful we did not choose that path, and instead chose to allow God to do some amazing healing and restoration in our marriage. 

When as a young bride I repeated the words “for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, till death do us part” I never even considered the possibility that our lives would hold more worse than better, more poorer than richer, and lots of sickness. I had visions of living happily ever after with everything nearly perfect. Life surprised me for sure. Four kids, (one special needs), losing a baby, several job losses, huge financial setbacks, chronic illness, and a host of other “problems” that nearly made me buckle under the pressure almost did us in on more than one occasion. We have walked a very difficult road for most of the twenty-six years we have been married. Looking back on that road, though, I am often in awe that this man has stuck with me. He loves me unconditionally and treats me better than I deserve.

The current ride we are on is often scary with many twists, turns, loops and stomach-dropping hills. I am so thankful I am on this ride with him by my side, hanging onto me as I hang onto him. I am blessed beyond words.

I love you, Dave!

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

