Thankfulness Post Day 5: DJ

As I continue to introduce my children via my thankfulness posts, my third child is my thankful topic for today.

Known as DJ for all of his life, he does have a name that the initials represent. 🙂 Daniel Josiah was born February 1993. He may have been a surprise to us, but he was definitely planned by God! His entrance into this world set the stage for what his personality would be–quick and always on the move! DJ was born TWELVE minutes after we arrived at the hospital. Had my husband not driven at a very high rate of speed to get us to the hospital, DJ would have had the honor of being our only child to be born in the car! He weighed in at 8 lbs. 4 oz. and I often say that he cried for the first ten months of his life. I don’t think I am exaggerating. This child refused any type of attempt to be put on a schedule; he lived by his own timetable from Day 1. He slept very little–whether it was night or day. He much preferred to be awake and doing something. He wasn’t a fan of television or videos. His best friend was always his sister, Sara. They swore they were twins. They were often mistaken as such as they rode in a double stroller through the mall. After all, they were only fourteen months apart. DJ was also quite gifted academically and athletically. He tried many sports and ended up focusing on soccer. He still plays as starting goalie for his college team. He also loved music. He played clarinet in band and marching band. His voice is beautiful and he used it to serve God by leading worship in youth group at church. He also sang in his school choir and top ensemble group. He even played the violin for a few years in orchestra. He tried his hand at theater as well and had roles in musicals, plays, and one-act plays throughout his high school years. He was a well rounded kid who lived life to the fullest every day. As he grew, he developed an amazing faith in his Savior. He was in high school when he heard the call God had placed on his life to go into full time ministry. He is currently following that call as a pastoral studies major in college. I believe God blessed us immensely with DJ, for he had a huge part in keeping us together as our marriage began to crumble. His strong faith and constant prayers were instrumental in our lives. I still have a note that he wrote when he was in high school taped to our bathroom wall. In it he gave us some Bible verses to encourage us to persevere. Some things, thankfully, do not change. He is still an encourager, often texting me to ask how I am feeling. (He still doesn’t sleep much either!) At one point, like his siblings, DJ was homeschooled. When we moved from Hopkins to Buffalo (a much smaller school district) they were unable to provide the resources to challenge him at school. His 5th grade teacher told me he would be better off at home. So, I added him to the three already there and for 3 1/2 years, I had all four of my kids home for school. Those were challenging days for sure, but I wouldn’t trade them for anything. I loved having my kids home with me and the memories we made during those years I will forever cherish. He is a joy to all who know him and has found a wonderful, sweet young lady whom he is very fond of. 😉  I am so thankful that God “surprised” us with this bundle of energy, enthusiasm, strength and faith!

     

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

