Thankfulness Post Day 7: Harvest Bible Chapel

Today I had many ideas going through my head about what to write. There are so many things in my life I am thankful for. Today I chose to write about our church.

We have been attending Harvest Bible Chapel West Minneapolis for a little over a year. It is a cool story as to why we ended up at that church, but I won’t go into that. I’ll just say that its parent church, Harvest Bible Chapel in Chicago, played a huge role in the saving of our marriage. Our son DJ attended one of the Chicago campuses and wanted to check out the Maple Grove church when he was home over summer break. The first Sunday we walked into Harvest we felt welcomed and loved. We have since made Harvest our church home.

I am so thankful for this group of believers, especially the pastor of Harvest, Pastor Brent Halvorsen.  I came into this place full of spiritual pride and thinking my ticket to heaven had been punched. Little did I know at that time that God was beginning to do an amazing work in me. That work was painful and it often angered me. Pastor Brent patiently answered e-mails and met with Dave and me to talk. I was harboring bitterness and unforgiveness from some things that had happened to me in my past, but I didn’t want to admit that I was in the wrong. I believed I had the right to feel this way after what had happened. In an honest–brutally honest!–e-mail, Pastor Brent told me I needed to stop blaming God for what had happened in my past. I had never thought of myself as blaming God but realized that was exactly what I was doing. Among other things he said, Pastor Brent told me that maybe I hadn’t really surrendered my life to Christ. Long story short, he was right and in November of 2012 I finally surrendered my life to God. Since then, I have seen God do amazing things in my life. He has grown me spiritually and has convicted me of my bitterness and unforgiveness. God is continuing to work in those areas of my life, and I find I am more and more at peace with my past.

I am so thankful that God led us to Harvest, that He put us under the leadership of amazing pastors, and that He put us in a small group of wonderful couples who love us and encourage us. I can finally say with the Psalmist, “I was glad when they said unto me, ‘Let us go to the house of the Lord!'”

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

