Thankfulness Post Day 8: Seasons

Today I am thankful that I live in a place that experiences a change of seasons.

Now, I know many will disagree with me. Some, for example, may try to say that Florida has seasons too. I disagree. Maybe they think that 68 degrees is cold enough to wear a sweatshirt, but I laugh at that notion. Others will disagree that a particular season holds any beauty at all. I hope to change the minds of some of those grumps.

I grew up in Western New York, a place where four distinct seasons existed all my life. Summers were warm and humid (or so I thought) and winters were full of lake effect snow. Springs and autumns were the perfect in between of these two extremes.

Now I live in Minnesota. Yes, we do have four distinct seasons here as well, but the extremes are, well, MUCH more extreme. Summers here are not warm–they are HOT and HUMID. I didn’t think humidity like this actually existed. Winters aren’t often snowy and lake effect snow is unheard of, an ironic fact considering it is the land of 10,000 lakes. Sometimes, cities in the arrowhead region will get lake effect off of Lake Superior but that’s rare, not to mention far from my area of Minnesota. What is true about winters here, though, is they are COLD. We have had several winters where the temperature didn’t go above zero for an entire week or more. Schools have been closed due to wind chill–usually 40 degrees BELOW ZERO or colder. Believe it or not, I love those days! I take walks. But I digress. Springs here are pretty miserable–damp and foggy. Autumns are glorious although I would have to say a Southerntier Western New York autumn is a bit more spectacular. You can’t beat autumn in the Alleghany Mountains. Minnesota has no mountains. Or hills. It’s just flat.

I do enjoy all four seasons–I just happen to be in the minority of people whose favorite season is winter. I love cold and snow. There is something cozy about coming out of the cold into a warm house; coming out of the heat into a cold house just doesn’t give the same homey feeling. Sweatshirts to cozy up in, candles that smell like fall, baking apple pies, and soups on the stove are all inviting and are a staple of winter. And if my most favorite season is winter, can you guess my least favorite? If you said summer, believe it or not, you’re wrong. Spring is my least favorite season. It’s wet and muddy and damp and daylight savings time comes back. I hate daylight savings time.

Regardless, I am still very thankful to live in a place where the view from my window changes every few months. Green to brown to brilliant reds and oranges to white–God’s paintbrush is always at work.

Becky M snow (The view from my window Wednesday morning–gorgeous!)

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

