Thankfulness Post Day 9: …

You know, some days it’s difficult to find that spirit of gratitude. It isn’t that I don’t have much to be thankful for; I can list many things even on a bad day like today. But, on a bad day like today–a day that held disappointment, pain, frustration–it’s just harder to have a thankful attitude. The problem, though, is I don’t have the right to NOT be thankful. God says, “…in all things with prayer and thanksgiving…” The word “all” there is pretty inclusive.

So, regardless of how I feel, I need to be thankful because I want to be obedient.

What am I thankful for on a day like today? I am thankful that God’s mercies are new every morning. I’m thankful that He hasn’t forgotten about me even when I fear that He has. And I am thankful that God has built into us as human beings the need for sleep. Sleep–a time when the worries and problems that fill this world and in turn, my mind, can be forgotten for a few hours.

Thank you, God, for the promise of these things even on a day like today.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

