Thankfulness Post Day 11: Freedom

Ok. I vowed I wouldn’t add to the throng of people who have already filled up my news feed on Facebook and Twitter expressing their thanks to our veterans. It isn’t that I am not thankful to veterans; I am very thankful for the freedoms I have in this country, and I realize that those freedoms didn’t come freely.

So what made me decide to diverge from my pre-thought out list of subjects slated for this month of thankfulness?

As I took a break from working today, I came across a picture someone posted on Facebook. The photo depicted a young man in an armed service’s uniform. I couldn’t tell what branch of the armed service the man had served in since the picture was a black and white photo.

If you read my post yesterday, you read about the man I called my dad. After my dad passed away, my mom gave me a pile of pictures and other items that she came across as she completed the task all loved ones dread when one passes away. In that pile of pictures was one of my dad in his army uniform. My dad served at the very beginnings of World War II. I remember as a kid playing with his army hat. 🙂

Today, I can sit at my computer and work. The money I make goes into our bank account and we are free to spend it as we please.

Yesterday I went to church. We worshipped, read from our Bibles and prayed. No armed men came in to arrest us for these things. We are free to worship in this country.

We have four children. We could have had 1 or 19–there is no law regulating the size of families in this country. We are free to have as few or as many children as we want.

Today I picked up my van after having it at the body shop to fix some damage done to it a few weekends ago. We have the freedom to own vehicles and drive them where we want as long as we obey the laws set forth to do so.

McDonalds is less than one-quarter of a mile from my house. Now, I don’t like McDonalds food, but I love their diet coke! I am free to drink diet coke or even eat McDonalds food (should I choose to do so). No one controls what I eat or drink.

Living in this country means having freedoms that some in other countries do not have. People in China cannot choose the size of their families. People in Iran cannot freely attend a Christian church. Women in many middle eastern countries do not have any rights to work or vote or even dress how they want.

Freedom is a gift that I did nothing to earn. Instead, others have chosen to serve their country by fighting to keep these freedoms. These freedoms were won back in the beginnings of this country when immigrants searching for religious freedom fought to break free from the reign and rules of King James of Britain. Countless wars have been fought since then to insure that these freedoms have not been taken away.

I do not take these freedoms for granted; I even wonder how much longer, under the current government, we will continue to have the freedoms we have. I pray that we do not lose the freedoms that came at a cost to so many over the years.

Today,  I am thankful for those who have served and continue to serve so I can have the freedoms I have.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

