Thankfulness Post Day 12: My Mom

Today I am thankful for the amazing lady I call “Mom”. Indulge me for a few moments while I brag about her.

Describing my mom is a difficult task. For those of you who know her, you understand what I am saying. Let me start by saying she is 84 years old. One would never know that, though, if you spent a week with her. When I go to New York to spend time with her, I am exhausted when I get home! The word “relax” is not in her vocabulary. Never has been. She has a more active social life than I do (or would want for that matter–remember, I am more like my dad, the introvert). She loves God, her church, and just about every person she meets.

My mom is one of those people who needs to be needed. As I was growing up, she was involved in so many ministries and activities that I used to wonder how she kept track of where she had to be. She was a volunteer cook for the Christian school in our town. Once a week she and a few friends would come in an cook hot lunches for the kids at the school. She also orchestrated a Thanksgiving dinner for the kids every year. I vaguely remember a dinner she cooked with some people using the local public school’s kitchen–I don’t recollect what the occasion was, but it was yearly. She baked goodies for the church session meetings. She was an amazing baker–and still is. Even at her age now, she bakes every week for the church she attends. That is one area where I do take after my mom. 🙂

She and my dad ran a business together for years. It was not an easy thing to do, and I learned that having a business meant much more work than working for someone else. They were married (I think) 53 years and would still be married if my dad hadn’t passed away. Even though in the last few years of his life my dad should have been in a nursing home, mom refused to do that to him. She worked a job at a grocery store and took care of my dad–everything he needed she did for him, even making his lunch before she would leave for work so he didn’t have to. Her sacrifice and selflessness was not only amazing, it was an example to all of us on what marriage really is. She lived out “for better and for worse, for richer and for poorer, in sickness and in health till death do us part”.

The last few years have dealt my mom some health issues of her own. She has faced them bravely and has bounced back from each one remarkably quickly. This past summer she had major surgery–a surgery that was supposed to result in a 6 week recovery period. I scheduled a trip home to help her. Not surprisingly, she didn’t really need my help. We went somewhere every day, whether it was the mall, visiting friends, or Niagara Falls! As I said, I was exhausted when I came home after trying to keep up with her!

My mom has been there for me during some rough times. I remember when I was a new mom and Zach had been screaming for hours. It was 2:00AM and both Dave and I were exhausted and at wits end as to what to do. I called mom and she drove to our home to try to help settle Zach and to let us get some sleep. That’s the kind of person she was–and still is.

I am so thankful for her and am thankful that she is still a part of our lives. I know she misses my dad very much and often wishes she could go be with him. I know that day will most likely come, but I sure am glad it hasn’t yet.

 (Mom and DJ at DJ’s high school graduation)

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

