Thankfulness Post Day 14: Music

I know I missed a day yesterday. It had nothing to do with being ungrateful at all. I have not been feeling well and simply could not muster up the energy yesterday to type. Even if I had the energy, I’m not sure my brain could have put together words that formed coherent sentences. Yes, it was that bad. I can’t say that I am feeling much better today, but at least I am able to do a short entry. As I reflect on the last few days, weeks, even months, one thing has been constant (besides not feeling well)–the role that music plays in my life.

I have always loved music. I love to sing, although God did not gift me with a very good singing voice. Sometimes I wonder why He gave me such a great love for something but didn’t give me the ability to use that love? I don’t have an answer for that except to say, “Who am I to question God?” Regardless of the fact that I am not good at singing, it is something I do anyway–just not in public. 🙂

I grew up listening to old time country music on records. My dad even had 78’s and we had a record player that could play them! My love for country music stayed with me most of my life, although in my teen years, which happened to fall in the 80’s, I fell in love with rock music and even some heavy metal. Sometimes I think of what I listened to and cringe at the words and messages in those songs. The 80’s though, was the best decade for music. I returned to country music after marriage and kids. I even cringe now at some of those lyrics and messages. I will never forget the Sunday we walked into church after having the radio on in the van on the way there. As DJ walked to his Sunday School class, he was singing, rather loudly, “Bring me two pina coladas, I want one for each hand,” by Garth Brooks. Ooops.

I stopped listening to country music a few years ago when I realized that it was feeding an episode of major depression I was going through at the time. For me, I know that words and messages from songs affect me emotionally; therefore, I am careful what I listen to. I loved southern gospel music even as a child. The Gaither Vocal Band occupies many bytes on my MP3 player. One of the highlights of 2013 for me was getting to see them in concert–three rows from the stage! I also love praise and worship music. I use both of these genres to lift me up and point my eyes back to my Savior when I find I have lost sight of Him.

Music is such a part of my life–I can’t imagine my life without it. I am so thankful that God built music into our lives and into our worship services.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

