Thankfulness Post Day 15: My Sister

Today I am writing my thankfulness post about my older–much older–sister. Her name is Joanne.

Jo is the oldest of my parents’ kids. She is also the only one who will get a thankfulness post. There are reasons for that which are sad and they bother me, but, as I posted on Twitter today, “The reality of a situation isn’t always pretty, but it is reality and needs to be accepted.” That’s all I will say about that. (Are you thinking Forrest Gump right now? I am.)

Joanne, as stated in my opening sentence, is older than me. In fact, I was young enough to be the flower girl in her wedding. I believe I was seven years old when she got married. Not too long after getting married, Jo and her husband, Phill, moved to Virginia. I didn’t see her much at all after that. I wish that hadn’t been the case, but, see reality quote above. It’s difficult to build a relationship with your sister when you are sixteen years apart and live hundreds of miles apart. Thankfully, as time has gone on, we have had the opportunity to develop a wonderful relationship albeit long distance. A year and a half ago, when no one in my family (i.e. my mom) knew about our marriage troubles, she did. She called me almost every weekend to ask how I was doing and how things were going. She has been my cheerleader when I needed motivation and my encourager when things seemed lost. She also gave me a beautiful niece (and in turn, a great-niece and a great-nephew).

Today I am thankful that she has not chosen sides–that she loves me and wishes the best for me. I know if trouble arose, I could call her and she would find a way to help. No, I don’t get to sit down to Thanksgiving dinner with her or make Christmas memories with her, but I am thankful for the relationship we have.

Besides, she is a wimp when it comes to cold–Minnesota would not be a climate she could handle. 🙂

Joanne, her daughter Karen, my mom, and those two adorable kiddos–great-niece Sole and great-nephew Gabriel.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

