Thankfulness Post Day 17: My Job

Today it would make sense for my thankfulness post to be about my daughter Sara since it is her birthday. I already did a post for her though and repeating that would not make sense. So, today I choose to write about my job.

I like love to read. Ever since I learned to read as a child, I have been obsessed with books. I have several large bookshelves in the house and every one of them is full. I think that Nooks and Kindles and such are sinful. Okay, maybe not sinful, but one step below that. I love the feel of a book in my hand and the sound of the pages turning.

What does my love of books and reading have to do with my job? Much! I get paid to read. Seriously–paid to read! And that’s not the only great thing about my job. I don’t have to leave my house to work. I don’t even have to leave my bed if I don’t want to. Well, I do need to get my laptop so technically I do need to leave for a minute or so, but then I can crawl back under the warm blankets, power up my computer and work. “What do I read?” you may ask. I score student responses to writing, reading and math portions of standardized tests. I score tests from all different states. The only down side to this work is it is not year round. I typically have projects 6 months out of the year, but still, it’s a great way to make some extra money.

I always hoped that degree in Education would come in handy. 🙂

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

