My Favorite Scripture

Last night my husband and I were having a spiritual discussion. This doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, it is usually an awesome conversation. Somehow we got to the topic of the Bible and how do we know when God is wanting us to do something or not to do something. Our small group is currently studying the book of James and this past week the discussion there revolved around the topic of Godly wisdom versus earthly wisdom. That discussion was probably the fuel for our conversation last night.

The Bible is one book made up of many smaller books and is chock full of a variety of subjects. There isn’t much that is not addressed in God’s Word. For us, we find that our favorite Scripture varies by the season of life we are currently living in. Right now, we are in the “parenting young adults and learning how to back off while still caring” stage. It is so much more difficult than I expected it would be. Lately, my go to book has been the book of Psalms. Specifically, Psalm 18. David says,

“In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From His temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears.” (Ps. 18:6 ESV)

I love the word picture this verse gives me. I am often in distress as I watch our kids struggle in an adult world that is far from friendly or as they make decisions that I wonder if are in their best interest. I picture the God of this universe, the ONE who controls ALL things, sitting on a throne ruling the entire world. Then, he hears the small voice of this tiny me down on the earth he created. He stops what he is doing because he cares enough about me to listen to my distress. What greater comfort can there be than that?

 

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Scripture

  1. Thank you for sharing your favorite scripture. I love it too. So glad you are on this journey. Enjoyed your blog this evening. Hugs. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader/Team Leader/Blog Hop Team)

    • becmom45 says:

      Thanks for stopping by! Blogging is fairly new to me and I haven’t put as much into it as I want to–and need to. Being a part of something, like the Proverbs 31 study, that allows me use writing to process is exactly what I need. 🙂

Leave a Reply

