Leaving

For the most part, saying goodbye isn’t usually done for a happy occasion. That is not always the case of course. I know many people who gladly say goodbye to the cold, snow, and ice that comes with winter in the northern parts of the country. I say a happy farewell to the heat and humidity that comes with the summer months of the upper Midwest. My husband happily bid adieu to diapers when our last child no longer needed them. These are all things, though. Having to say goodbye to people isn’t often joyful. I remember when my dad passed away. After his memorial service when it came time to close the casket for the final time, saying goodbye was heart wrenching.  Death is a final goodbye, but not all goodbyes fall into that category. When my daughter visits with my new little grandson, I cry when the time comes to say goodbye. They live too far away for me to just drop in an visit whenever I need a baby snuggle.

Speaking of my daughter, fourteen months ago she said “I do” and promised to love and cherish the wonderful young man who had asked her to be his wife. I remember the morning of the wedding, which was Valentine’s Day, hearing the song Cinderella by Steven Curtis Chapman.

“So I will dance with Cinderella while she is here in my arms,
‘Cause I know something the prince never knew.
Oh, I will dance with Cinderella, I don’t wanna miss even one song,
‘Cause all too soon, the clock will strike midnight…
And she’ll be gone.”

Tears rolled down my cheeks as I nodded, knowing now how it felt to have your baby girl “leave her father and mother” and change her last name. It amazed me then, and it continues to amaze me, how something like the marriage of my little girl was so sweet yet so bitter at the same time.  The goodbye said that day was a happy one, yet at the same time, it was hard on this momma’s heart.

Today, I will say that same kind of goodbye again. My son, once as little as the new little grandson my daughter now holds, will leave his father and mother and marry a beautiful and wonderful young woman who has stolen his heart. While his last name will remain the same as mine, his heart will now be held by someone other than his momma. This boy who I rocked through all hours of many nights, who I watched with awe as his natural gifts and talents started to emerge, who I cried over when he made mistakes that I knew would hurt him, who I love with all my heart, will now have another woman holding his hand through life’s ups and downs. I love her dearly, and am beyond thankful that she loves my son like she does. Still, there will be tears today as I watch my son glow with love for his bride, and I will understand how her mom and dad feel as they give her to my son.

There will be no avoiding tears, I’m sure, as my little boy takes the hand of someone else’s little girl and together they start a new branch of the growing tree that is our family.

“But at the beginning of creation God ‘made them male and female.’  ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife,  and the two will become one flesh. So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.” Mark 10:6-7

I love you DJ! I pray God’s blessings on both of you!

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

