It Won’t Hurt a Bit Mr. Frog

I recently lost a friend. This wasn’t a close friend or someone I even saw as I went about my travels through town. None the less, there was once a friendship where there is now no longer one.

Rejection isn’t an easy thing to deal with–especially when one’s emotions are usually in a fragile state anyway. Chronic depression tends to do that to you. It makes things look gigantic that probably aren’t all that big, and it minimizes things that maybe should have more attention focused on them. In the thirty plus years I have lived with depression, I still don’t always have a grasp on the balance needed to focus correctly although I have gotten better at it in the last few years. Rejection, though, still stings, even when I am fairly confident that I did nothing wrong. I don’t regret anything I said or did. If given the opportunity, I would do nothing differently. A song I used to listen to when my musical preferences leaned toward country and western style said, “You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything.” I stood on what I believe to be Biblical principles and the other person couldn’t handle it. Perhaps the truth hit too close to home and there wasn’t a willingness to admit that. Perhaps that is way off base. The one thing I know for sure is that we disagreed on what I perceive to be a very straightforward Biblical issue.

All that said, this morning as I was checking e-mails, I came across a newsletter that I subscribe to. I clicked on the link and read the accompanying article. The article presented facts about a new law that a school district in Virginia had passed that allows transgender use of restrooms and locker rooms.You can find the article here:

https://www.olivetreeviews.org/news/headlines/item/8060-feds-force-policy-that-allows-transgender-kids-to-use-bathrooms-of-their-choice

Besides the obvious concerns, what I found disturbing about this is that it was passed against the will of the majority of the citizens. Teachers and parents alike were against its passage. I’m sure if you allow your mind to travel through some possible ramifications of this law, you will see that it puts so many students in harm’s way. So, even though the majority of the people were against this, why was it passed? I am going to venture out on a limb here and say that our nation, once founded on religious principles, has become the proverbial frog in the liberal pot of water. Sixty years ago, if someone went to a school board and proposed this law, there would be no possible way it would ever be considered–let alone passed. Sixty years ago, our country still followed not only constitutional laws but also moral laws. Constitutional interpretation has taken on a new form sixty years later, and that form has been s-l-o-w-l-y forced on the people of this country. Over time, the changes have been subtle enough that most have not noticed it. Like a frog in a pot of water on the stove, American people sit and wait and tolerate just about anything thrown their way. After all, the liberals claim, every person should have equal rights. Why shouldn’t men who feel more like a woman on the inside be allowed to use a women’s locker room?Who are you to discriminate against that “man”? A very small minority (trans gender students who desire to use restrooms and locker rooms opposite of their God-given gender) has pulled the wool over the eyes of the majority. What about the mom who sends her seventeen year old daughter to school and doesn’t want a seventeen year old boy sharing showers and a locker room with her? Where are her rights? Isn’t she being discriminated against? Of course she is! But liberals will not admit to that. Discrimination, in their eyes, is okay as long as it isn’t their views that are under attack!

What is even sadder to me, is that many “Christians” identify with this liberal agenda and pass it off as “love”. I have had people tell me that Jesus loves everyone and would not object to free rights for all. I vehemently disagree. Jesus does love everyone, BUT He refuses to accept their sin. In each of the letter to the seven churches found in the first three chapters of Revelation, Jesus instructs them to REPENT. He holds their sin against them and they are warned of dire consequences if repentance does not occur. Does this sound like a God who will look with favor on the man who feels more like a woman and therefore believes that sex with a man is okay? If you answer that question with a “Yes” than I would dare say you are the frog that has just about reached boiling point.

I fear that soon it will be discriminatory to say anything against anything that someone desires. Who are we to say that homosexuality is wrong? Who are we to say bestiality is wrong? Who are we to say incest is wrong? Who are we to say cannibalism is wrong? Who are we to say that euthanasia of a special needs child is wrong? Do you see the slippery slope here?

Oh wait.

An exception to that would be if you are a Christ follower. (Not a liberal Christ follower–which is actually an oxymoron anyway) A true Christ follower who reads and applies Biblical principles to your own life yet finds a way to love those who disagree. You see, the friend I lost decided to attack me with horrible hate speech. He labeled me with all the labels he claimed I was using against a certain people group. (Which I wasn’t by the way. There was no hatred in my words and I was careful to not respond in anger even though at times my fingers wanted to flail away on the keyboard and tell him off. So did my son and a few others who followed the conversation) Christians seem to not have the same rights to belief and practice as others do. Of course this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Jesus warned His disciples that the world would hate them. The world hated Him–enough to put Him to death even though He did nothing wrong–so it was guaranteed that the world would also hate those who truly identify with Him.

I am learning that losing a friend in this case, though sad, is a good thing. It is reassurance that I have stood for something I believe. I did not back down, yet I did not sever the friendship tie. Instead, the “all loving, all equality” person decided I was no longer worthy of his friendship because I expressed a belief that opposed his. All I can say to that is where is the tolerance on the part of the liberals? The very thing they demand from Christians they refuse to give.

I think Jesus referred to those kinds of people as Pharisees and hypocrites…

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Culture, depression and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

