Cut the Lawn, Shovel the Snow

This picture is something I used to look at when, as a child, Wheaties was my favorite breakfast cereal. I always read the box as I ate. I was a kid who loved and looked forward to the Olympics. While the winter Olympics were my favorite, I watched with enthusiasm certain events of the summer games as they were projected into my room via television screen. I remember the medals won by Bruce Jenner during the summer Olympics. Over the years many faces appeared on my Wheaties boxes. I don’t remember many of them, but his I remember. That was the real Bruce Jenner–a gifted athlete and also an actor who I remember watching ride alongside Officer Jon Baker every week on the show CHiPs. I loved that show and had the biggest young girl crush on the blond Jon Baker.

But I digress.

Lately, every time I turn on my computer, an image of Bruce Jenner appears somewhere on my home screen. If I happen to catch any entertainment news on television (which is very rare), his picture appears there as well. Only, this is not the Bruce Jenner I grew up liking and respecting. When I first heard the news report that he was transitioning to a female, I thought perhaps the reporters had gone crazy. Bruce Jenner was a man–no doubt about it. He ran track with the men’s Olympic team. He was referred to as “Sir” on CHiPs. Although I wasn’t present at his birth, I’m pretty sure when he was born, the doctor told his mom that she had given birth to a boy. I don’t think his mom would have named him Bruce if that had not been the announcement made. It seems, though, that all these years “Bruce” didn’t feel like a male. Instead, he felt more like a female and finally decided that his feelings should be what dictate his life.

Imagine if we all felt that our feelings should dictate our lives. I, for one, would certainly have been arrested by now for assault if not full blown murder. One drive down the highway that takes me to my home would take care of that charge! I can’t count how often I have felt like ramming into the car in front of me driving below the speed limit in the left lane! Or swerving into the next lane to get the guy next to me to stop sitting in my blind spot. I probably would also have had my children taken away from me for neglect, for there were many mornings I didn’t feel like getting out of bed and facing the cries, the squabbles among siblings, the mountains of laundry, the pile of dishes, and the heat of a hot stove cooking a dinner that most would probably complain about anyway. Who wouldn’t rather stay in bed when faced with all that? I know for sure I would have been divorced by now had I allowed my feelings to dictate my life. Marriage is hard work! Very often I didn’t feel like saying sorry to my husband or allowing him to have his way.

Regardless of what Bruce Jenner claims, he may even go by the name Caitlyn Jenner, but female he is not. He can claim all he wants to and be applauded by the delusional who actually think that because of some medical procedure his gender is changed, but the reality is that just is not true. God created male and female at the beginning of time. For thousands of years, every birth resulted in a pronouncement of “It’s a boy!” or “It’s a girl!” (Yes, I realize that there are some instances–very rare–where a baby is born with both male and female parts. Again, this a very rare occurrence.) Along with the creation of male and female as different yet complementary, God mandated that His creation follow a certain set of rules. Males were supposed to marry females. It has been since the beginning of time that a “man shall leave his father and mother and cling to his wife”.

Allow me to make a comparison.

Where I live, the summers are warm and sunny. The occasional rain during those months causes the grass to grow. When the grass gets too high, most people get out the lawn mower to cut it. Given any summer weekend, on a walk through a neighborhood, one can hear the sounds of running lawnmowers and the smell of freshly cut grass. The converse of that is the winter months here. During those months, you will not hear lawnmowers or smell cut grass. In fact, you most likely won’t even see the grass as it sits dormant under a blanket of white snow. People don’t worry about snow on their lawns during those months; however, they do tend to deal quickly with the snow found in their driveways. During those times, lawnmowers are put away and snow shovels can be found in nearly every garage.

A lawnmower isn’t any help in clearing snow from a driveway. That wasn’t what it was designed for.

Likewise, a snow shovel isn’t any help in cutting the grass. That wasn’t what it was designed for.

The obvious here is that ultimately, nothing functions correctly unless it is used in the way it was created to be used. If you saw your neighbor using his snow shovel to try to cut the grass, surely you would think something’s wrong.

This same principle applies to Bruce Jenner. He is a HE regardless of what the cover of Vanity Fair proclaims. Human beings do NOT have the power to change what God has made and defined clearly. Bruce can wear women’s clothing, put on make up, ingest artificial elements that will make his body produce female hormones, and even change his name to that of a female. None of it matters. Some day, Bruce/Caitlyn Jenner will stand before the One who created him–the One who formed him and knew him before he was even born–and he will have to face his maker. We all will. In the mean time, it is not our privilege to change what God has made. Our culture has come to accept homosexuality and transgenderism as acceptable. In fact, Bruce Jenner is being lauded as a hero. Seriously? A hero? For what? For not being responsible enough to seek the help he needed? Since when does following your whims and feelings make you heroic? Did we applaud the Boston bomber because he felt he needed to kill Americans? Did we give him the status of hero for following his feelings? No! And rightly so. Bruce Jenner should NOT be held up to America as a hero. He should not be awarded any type of recognition for rejecting what God made him to be. Let’s call it what it is–sin. And, as one writer I read this week said, let’s stop paying so much attention to a man who wants to play dress up when there are things happening in this world that are of far more importance. Let’s look for real heroes and recognize them and their actions and give our children real role models to look up to.

Bruce Jenner is certainly not in that category.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Culture, persecution and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

