Grandma Prays

I read a quote the other day on Pinterest that really caught my attention. It said:

“Grandma’s prayers are the reason a lot of us are still here.” (No author credit was given)

Almost twelve weeks ago, I entered into a new stage of life. I became a grandma to an absolutely perfect little boy. He is named after his great grandfather, he looks a lot like his daddy but has his mommy’s eyes and a little of his Uncle DJ in him too, and he surprised us all by deciding to make his appearance three and a half weeks early. He has ten tiny little fingers and ten tiny little toes and more hair on his head than his grandpa Dave has. 🙂  I knew I would love him; what I didn’t realize is just how much my heart would be full of love for my grandson. I treasure the moments I can hold him and sing to him (he doesn’t mind the fact that grammy doesn’t have a very good singing voice) and read to him (yes, I have read to him already). I don’t look around my house and panic because there is so much to get done. I don’t care if there is. I know from experience that this baby will grow to be big way too fast. I don’t want to miss it. That’s what is so awesome about being a grandma–I have the time now to cuddle and rock and sing and love and teach without the stress of siblings and housework and obligations.

Yes, I absolutely love being a grandma.

I am also finding that, often as I hold him, I am praying for him. A grandma has time to pray–especially a grandma who has an illness that keeps her sitting a lot anyway. I pray that God will protect him from harm. I pray that he would learn at a very young age that Jesus loves him SO much. I pray for his mommy and daddy that they would have the strength to withstand the sleepless nights now and those to come. I pray that he will come to know Jesus at an early age and desire to follow Him. I pray a lot for him. Don’t get me wrong–I prayed (and continue to pray) as a mom too. I ask God for many of the same things for my now grown children and I did pray for them as they grew up although not nearly as often as I should have. I didn’t understand prayer very much back then. I didn’t realize how important it is. As I have come to know Jesus in the last couple years, I have been learning more about the importance of prayer. Because of this, I find my prayers for my grandson to be so much deeper than how I used to pray as a mom of young kids.

I did not have the benefit of a grandma who prayed for me. I only knew one of my four grandparents. The other three had passed away long before I was born. The grandma I knew was nice enough. She even lived with us for a while. I remember one time she gave my friend and me money for the ice cream truck as it came down our street. She watched TV with me. But she didn’t go to church. She never talked about God–at least not in a way I could repeat. She respected those who desired to pray before meals or before bed, but she never initiated it. I’m not sure she really knew Jesus personally.

I do not want to be that kind of grandma. I want my grandson to know his grandma prays for him, for his mommy and for his daddy. I want him to know who Jesus is. I want him to know Jesus has a special plan for his life. I want him to understand that without Jesus, his life will not be complete. I want him to grow up knowing that his grandma, above all else, loved Jesus more than anything this world can offer. As I softly sing “Jesus Loves Me” to a little boy who already fights sleep (just like his Uncle DJ used to do), I pray that some day he will remember and know without a doubt that Jesus does love him.

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in Children, Grandma, Grandson and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

