Break my Heart For What Breaks Yours

The title of this entry is a line from a song we often sing in our church worship time. The song is sung by Hillsong United and is titled Hosanna. The entire stanza goes like this:

“Heal my heart and make it clean
Open up my eyes to the things unseen
Show me how to love like You have loved me
Break my heart for what breaks Yours
Everything I am for Your Kingdom’s cause
As I walk from nothing to eternity.”

I have come to realize that often in my lifetime I have been selfish in what I allow to break my heart. I have always been a sensitive person, especially when it involves animals. As a child, the sight of a dead cat or even a dead deer in the road would bring instant tears. Admittedly, sometimes that still happens.

Heck, it still happens a lot!

I’ve also spent more tears than I care to admit over personal difficulties. Of course, I think it’s okay to cry when one is in pain or grieving or dealing with hard stuff that inevitably comes with life in this world. I believe God is okay with those tears, for He knows we are human and have feelings and emotions. He created us to feel. If I knew someone who just lost a loved one or got news of a terminal illness and they were laughing and going on with life like nothing happened, I would question whether that person were indeed human. Jesus cried when He arrived to his dear friends’ Mary and Martha’s house and found their brother–also Jesus’ friend–dead and already in the grave. The Gospels also tell us that Jesus was in such anguish in the Garden of Gethsemane that He sweat tears of blood. I have been down in the pit of despair many times in my life, yet never have I been so distraught that I sweated blood.

Last month news broke of a local dentist who had paid money to kill a lion in Zimbabwe. The lion, it turns out, was protected. He lived on a wildlife reserve AND he even had a name–Cecil. I admit when that story broke, I could not watch any of the footage. Instant tears would fill my eyes (and still do even as I type this) as I pictured this beautiful creature, King of beasts, being lured away from safety and killed for no reason except for some idiot to be able to brag that he killed a lion. My heart was broken for Cecil.

Was God’s?

I can’t really say. I know Cecil was God’s creation and I know God loves and has compassion on all He has made. God values human life over animal life, though, which is why he gave man dominion over all the creatures that move on the earth.

Soon after the news broke the story of Cecil the lion, another news story broke. This one was also one that told of unjust murder. The only thing is, this was not a protected lion that was killed. Instead, it was a report of MANY killings–of human babies. The outrage should come there. Everyone should be outraged that babies, the weakest humans, were not only murdered and dismembered, but that it took place in what is supposed to be the safest of places–the warmth of a mommy’s womb. And this murder is legal. Abortion, as this murder is known as, is legal in this country. Most who choose this procedure simply do so out of convenience. The timing of a pregnancy didn’t quite suit the plans already laid out so the easiest thing to do is to kill the “inconvenience”. Abortion doctors lie to these women and tell them that what they are doing isn’t murder; it can’t be murder if what is growing inside them isn’t referred to as a baby. So, medicine and science has come up with terms to avoid the truth. A baby is now referred to as a fetus. I guess this is supposed to take the guilt out of the truth of what is really happening. Yet, if a pregnant woman is killed by a bullet from a random gunman, and that gunman is caught and convicted, he is usually convicted of double murder.

Abortion is nothing new (sadly). No. The shock of the news story came from revealing videos from the largest liars and performers of abortion in this country: Planned Parenthood. Not only did these liars kill innocent, tiny babies by ripping them out of the one place they should be completely safe, but they tore their remains apart to sell their tiny hands, feet, brains, and other organs.

Where is the outrage? Where are the Americans who protest the killing of a lion or the killing of a criminal by a police officer?

Why do most turn the other way and pretend something tragic isn’t happening here?

This morning, as I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed, a post appeared that instantly made me sob. The link was to the most recently released video of Planned Parenthood slaughter. The picture was a baby—not a fetus—a baby. This baby was obviously a little boy. I only read the first two sentences. I will not repeat what was written there except to say that the person giving the story was a Planned Parenthood employee and had just been given the instruction to harvest a brain from an aborted  baby whose heart was still beating.

Did you catch that? His heart was STILL BEATING.

This was a real little baby—hands, feet, fingers, toes, a heart and a brain that would soon be cut out of him. I instantly thought of my beautiful baby grandson—Wayne, who turned 5 months yesterday. I couldn’t read any further. With no chance of stopping them, tears flooded my eyes and soaked my cheeks. Sobs came from deep within me as I thought of all the precious baby boys and girls who were killed because a woman felt he or she was an inconvenience. I continued to sob and I realized that my heart was breaking for something that most certainly breaks the heart of God. I thought about the millions of slain babies. How much pain did the murder cause them? What would they have become? How might they have changed this world? I could not stop the tears. I thanked God for the gift of our grandson and the joy he brings to our lives. I also prayed that God would hold the souls of those babies never given a chance at life—never allowed to be snuggled by a mommy or tossed up in the air and caught by a daddy or slide down a playground slide or feel the rain splash around them as they jump in puddles. More tears. More heart break.

I don’t stand in judgment of women who have made this choice. I do not pretend to know what it is like to find myself pregnant and scared to tell anyone. I do not have all the facts of every abortion performed. BUT, I don’t need any of this to know abortion is murder. You can call it something else to make yourself feel better about what is happening, but the bottom line is abortion is murder.

Planned Parenthood has duped many people into believing they are a wonderful organization that exists only to serve women in the most positive ways. In reality, that is a lie. This organization serves only to hurt women. They are only out to serve themselves and make money doing it. This should be an outcry to any person who has any sense of morals, but especially Christians should be outraged and moved to action. These precious babies are not forgotten by God and I believe justice will come on this nation that allows the murder of the most helpless and innocent among us. The question is, will we allow our hearts to be broken as this breaks the heart of God? And, if so, what will we do about it?

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in CHURCH, Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

