The Smallest of Blessings

Some days are just tough. Sometimes, those kinds of days string together to make a cluster of tough days.

The human mind is capable of withstanding much force against it.

The human body is designed to do the same thing.

Sometimes, though, the mind and body are attacked to a point that it is very difficult to stand up under the pressures coming against them.

Today, I found myself in that exact spot.

Tears were fought yet came anyway. I wanted nothing more than to crawl under the covers in my bed and hide away for a while.

A long while actually.

I was thinking maybe until October.

But, that is not a realistic option.

There was a reprieve though. There was a little while that another human being took away the pain and hurt and tears that were bubbling at and over the surface.

That human being is not even a year old. He has beautiful blue eyes that look deep into mine. He has a priceless smile that lights up a room and my heart. He has perfect little fingers that wrap around mine. He has beautiful curls forming in his hair on the back of his head. His arms reach for me and my heart melts. If he could talk, he would call me “Grammy”. He always loves me regardless of how good or bad my day may be.

For about an hour today, that small little boy, my grandson, was the biggest of blessings to this hurting heart.

I am so very thankful to God for this little boy.

waynemonster

About becmom45

Wife of one, mom of four, mom-in-law to two, grammy to one precious little boy; lover of snow, autumn, pumpkins, cats, books, baking, Charles Wysocki puzzles, Christmas; honest, raw author who hopes what is written here enlightens and educates those fortunate enough to not understand the demons chronicled.
This entry was posted in famiy, Grandma, Grandson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

